Catholic schools in the Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle are communities of learning characterised by high expectations for learners to achieve excellence, academic rigour, innovation and purpose, within environments that engage, empower and enable.

The curriculum at St John’s is based on the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) Curriculum. The seven Key Learning Areas are:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • HSIE
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

Schools within the Maitland-Newcastle Diocese use the MN Catholic Schools Contemporary Learning Framework (CLF) as a lens for planning quality teaching and learning.